The Stark County Sheriff’s Office has received and implemented the changes to the current Carry Concealed Weapons law. Effective on March 27, 2013 were the following changes to the law;

  • Applicants must be living in the United States legally
  • Has been a resident of the county or the adjacent county for at least thirty (30) days
  • If it is determined resident is legally living in the United States but has not met the county residency requirement, the Sheriff shall not deny application but shall hold application until residency is met
  • Applicant is not able to apply for or renew a concealed carry license if under suspension
  • Sheriff shall accept applications at least fifteen (15) hours a week and post notice of hours that applications will be accepted. The hours must be during normal business hours
  • $67.00 in license fee if the person has lived in Ohio for 5 consecutive years or more. $91.00 if the person has lived in Ohio less than 5 consecutive years
  • Sheriff must obtain at least four (4) fingerprints of applicant’s fingers.
  • The license is valid for five (5) years of issuance if issued after 3/14/07 those before that date are only good for four (4) years
  • If license is denied, the denial will be heard in the county in which the Sheriff serves
  • License renewal cannot be earlier than ninety (90) days nor later than thirty (30) days for renewal
  • Person/driver/occupant has duty to inform law enforcement officer or motor carrier officer that they are armed when approached in vehicle
  • Licensee must keep hands in plain sight at all times while in motor vehicle and armed and do as directed by law enforcement officer
  • DO NOT attempt to remove weapon from holster, box or compartment unless directed to do so by law enforcement officer
  • DO NOT knowingly grasp, attempt to grasp or touch loaded weapon while in vehicle unless directed to do so by law enforcement officer
  • DO NOT exit vehicle unless ordered to do so by law enforcement officer
  • DO NOT fail to comply with all directions of law enforcement officer
  • Penalties have been enhanced for convictions as follows:
    • Carrying Concealed Weapon 2923.12 (B)(1) and (2)
    • Carrying a Concealed Weapon 2923.12 (E)(3) and (4) will result in a suspension for one (1) year
      • Carrying a Concealed Weapon 2923.12 (B)(4)
      • Improperly Handling a firearm in a motor vehicle will result in a suspension for two (2) years

Method of Carry
  • On person
    • concealed – NO Change
  • In motor vehicle
    Ohio Revised Code 2923.16 Improperly handling firearms in a motor vehicle

    Effective September 30, 2011 concealed carry licensees are no longer required to carry handguns in any particular manner in a motor vehicle.
    If the permit holder chooses to carry while driving he should:
    Carry the handgun safely and securely - not accessible to unauthorized persons.
    He should have in his possession a valid concealed carry permit and another valid piece of government identification.
    If the permit holder is stopped by a law enforcement officer he must follow the guidelines set forth in ORC 2923.16(E).
    Motorcycles fall under the definition of motor vehicles.  The same requirements apply to licensees who carry a handgun while on a motorcycle.

          If you are NOT a concealed carry permit holder you must carry firearms per ORC 2923.16(B)
        ORC 2923.16(B) No person shall knowingly transport or have a loaded firearm in a motor vehicle in such a manner that the firearm is accessible to the operator or any passenger without leaving the vehicle.
(C) No person shall knowingly transport or have a firearm in a motor vehicle, unless the person may lawfully possess that firearm under applicable law of this state or the United States, the firearm is unloaded, and the firearm is carried in one of the following ways:
(1) In a closed package, box, or case;
(2) In a compartment that can be reached only by leaving the vehicle;
(3) In plain sight and secured in a rack or holder made for the purpose;
(4) If the firearm is at least twenty-four inches in overall length as measured from the muzzle to the part of the stock furthest from the muzzle and if the barrel is at least eighteen inches in length, either in plain sight with the action open or the weapon stripped, or, if the firearm is of a type on which the action will not stay open or which cannot easily be stripped, in plain sight.

  • Suspended licenses will all be entered into the Law Enforcement Automated Data System
  • An arrest for disqualifying offense 2923.128(A)(1)(a) suspension begins at arrest or charge
  • A conviction for disqualifying offense 2923.128(A)(2)(a) suspension begins on date of conviction
  • Sheriff shall notify licensee in writing of ending date of one (1) or two (2) year suspension
  • Sheriff shall return license when suspension is over unless license has expired during suspension, licensee may not reapply until suspension is over.
  • Law Enforcement Officer are exempt from all Carrying Concealed Weapons Laws, including transportation in a motor vehicle and carrying in prohibited places if:
    • Officer is qualified peace officer employed in Ohio
    • Re-qualification (weapon) requirement is met
    • Officer is authorized by agency head
  • Qualified RETIRED Peace Officer enjoy safe rights as Concealed Cary license holder if following is met:
    • Has an Agency issued retired ID Card and has retired in good standing (no mental instability)
    • Person was authorized to or participated in prevention, detection, investigation, prosecution, incarceration and had statutory authority to arrest
    • Receives bona fide retirement benefits
    • Successfully completes re-qualification annually
    • Must have certification from agency which includes retiree’s name, Agency’s name, date course completed and states valid for one (1) year

September 30, 2011 the following change occurred.
Ohio Revised Code: 2923.121 Possession of firearm in liquor permit premises - prohibition, exceptions
Permit holders are now allowed to carry concealed in Class D liquor permit premises, if they are NOT consuming beer or intoxicating liquor or are under the influence.
If you are not consuming you may carry concealed UNLESS there is a conspicuous sign prohibiting carry.

In September 29, 2007 the law concerning the Journalist being able to obtain copy of those issued will change and they will only be allowed to view them.

Signage will be posted in each of the two lobbies of the Stark County Sheriff’s Office as required by law. There is additional information listed on the sign to better serve the Stark County Community.

Signage -- C.C.W. Permits, Civilian Fingerprinting, Passport Identification Program - appointment hours and costs